Tic…Tac…T..OMG This is Impossible!

Original publish date: 19 May 2014

Let me begin by saying that I love winning books. It doesn’t matter what the book is. When I open my mail and there’s a book waiting for me, a smile spreads across my face immediately. So, when I opened the envelope that housed Tic Tac Tome by Willy Yonkers, I was happy and interested by the atypical dimensions of the book. In a 4.25 inch square, and 2.5 inches thick, the book is small yet hefty. It’s also quite snarky…and I like it. Finally a worthy adversary.

Boredom happens. Even with all the TV, movies, books, people, and places in the world, it happens from time to time. It happened one afternoon with a friend. Remembering that I just got the tome in the mail the day before, I whip out the brick and we commence…from the front of the book, of course. We want our advantage and who would be silly enough to start from the back of the book and let the book move first? As someone with strong tactical strategy skills, my friend analyzed each move and worked to anticipate the book’s move. After quite some time of working through logical options, we weren’t anywhere close to completing the ONE winning board.

I was so irritated and frustrated (to the point of wanting to chuck the book across the room) but I was compelled to find the solution. Worked through it backwards to find the ONE solution.

I later realized that was because we assumed with our selection that the book would make the logical move that would result in a stalemate instead of allowing us to win, so we didn’t check the page with the book’s next move. Had we only flipped to the page to check, our (my) frustration would have been easily quashed and SUCCESS would have been ours. 

So, now that I know the winning combination of moves, I could easily become bored with this book, but I don’t think I will. I probably will be pulling the book out when people complain of their boredom and I will knowingly observe as they attempt to beat the book in the wonderful childhood memory of tic-tac-toe and revel as they lose their minds (or faith in humanity). 

Overall, I’d give it a 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

