Yes, You Are a Freak of Nature And So Am I

Original publish date: 13 May 2014

A dead 17 year old girl turned into an efficient, deadly cyborg whose livelihood, as it were, depends on her ability to mask her human thoughts and emotions. Intriguing.

The old adage “don’t judge a book by its cover” is undoubtedly true, but with a cover like this one for Julia Crane’s Freak of Nature, I couldn’t help but be enamored with the art and the concept of CYBORG that it conveyed. 

The story was quick-paced, as I finished it in a mere couple of hours on a lazy Sunday afternoon. Crane’s characters are well and rapidly painted through their personalities and actions while retaining a good amount of building action as Kaitlyn’s fate is being sealed. A corporation capable of taking someone badly damaged and dead and reviving them through machinery that assists and guides their functioning isn’t all that far-fetched of a concept; it does, however, raise ethical considerations abounds and a few are moderately addressed through Lucas throughout the story, even if his questioning and concern stems from his emotional attachment to Kaitlyn. When it came to the inevitable love story for Kaitlyn, I braced myself for the worst and rolled my eyes when Lucas was introduced, particularly the way he was introduced. But I must admit that as their interactions progressed, it was a bit more believable (which had me internally sighing in relief and my eyes thankful for the cessation of rolling around).

There were several instances of text that could have used greater attention from a proofreader or copy editor (who might have been tired and easily overlooked some issues), such as when “your” was used in place of “you’re,” which irks me to no end and has me internally screaming and outwardly cringing. Now, you could blame my editor’s eye, thanks to my education in that area, to my being hyper-aware of grammatical issues; regardless of the cause, it pulled me out of the story until my brain could calm down from the nerdy rage it was caught up in. 

Overall, I’d give this a 4.25 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

